Recognize 4 Phase Normal Delivery


Childbirth can be one of the most thrilling in her life. In each second process, women have to do the best for the birth of a healthy baby, the mother’s life was saved.

Delivery process (under normal conditions) does not just happen. There are stages that must be passed through the birth canal finally opened and the delivery is complete.

“The delivery process consists of four stages called kala. Each stage has the same period of time that does not depend on the readiness and health of the mother. Each stage also has the distinct sensation that indicates the progress of labor. “

The following four phases (kala) normal delivery:

* Phase 1

This phase is also called when opening. At this stage occurs cervical ripening and opening up enough for the way out of the uterus. In stage 1, there are two phases:
1. Latent phase: opening up to 3 cm, lasted about eight hours.
2. The active phase: the opening of 3 cm to complete (+ 10 cm), lasted about six hours.

At this stage the mother will feel the contractions that occur every 10 minutes for 20-30 seconds. Contraction frequency increased up to 2-4 times per 10 minutes, with a duration of 60-90 seconds. Contraction occurs simultaneously with the discharge of blood, mucus, and spontaneous rupture of membranes. Amniotic fluid that comes out before the opening of 5 cm is often said to be a premature rupture of membranes.

* Phase 2

In this phase, the fetus begins to come out of the womb which takes about two hours. Phase begins when the cervix is open wide as 10cm to infants born full. In stage 2, the new membranes have ruptured or rupture spontaneously, with more frequent contractions are 3-4 times every 10 minutes.

Also occur due to straining reflex stimulation of the presenting part is pressing the anus and rectum. Additional power to push and contraction of the muscles of the abdominal wall and the diaphragm, helping remove the baby from the mother’s womb.

* Phase 3

This phase is also called kala uri, which is when the placenta come out of the womb. This phase begins when the baby is born complete and terminated the placenta. At this stage usually contractions getting stronger, but the frequency and uterine activity continued to decline. The placenta can be separated spontaneously or remain stuck and need additional help.

* Phase 4

This stage is the period of one hour after delivery that aims to observe the birth. At this stage the placenta has been successfully removed and there should be no bleeding from the vagina or organs. The wounds on the body of the mother should be cared for and there should be no blood clots.

The following two tabs change content below.


Latest posts by PUTRI AMALIA (see all)

4 thoughts on “Recognize 4 Phase Normal Delivery”

  1. Delivering a child is one of the most unforgettable experience for all women because for me it is a combination of pain, happiness and start of parenthood.

    • My wife has a high tolerance for pain. I think she is part ninja. But I must agree, having a child brings us happy memories.

  2. Having a child is one of our greatest achievements. It was joyful moment for my wife and I. But it is als one of the scariest times when my wife had to go get a C section. We wanted normal delivery but my daughter just kept on insisting to hold on to her Uterus. LOL.

    Understanding what goes on is an important step. The more we know – especially the dads, the less we will freak out.

  3. phew… I can’t imagine. I really can’t imagine the labor pains but I know the feeling of joy when the baby comes out.. relief and happiness…

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.